IPL Cricket Team

IPL Cricket Team

Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most energetic and enthusiastic version of T20 cricket played every year in India. IPL comes across in March, April or May. It was founded and funded by the Board of Cricket Council (BCCI) in the year 2008. The IPL has the maximum chances of ICC Future Tours Programmed. In this context, you would want to know more about the IPL cricket team.

The IPL Cricket Game is the greatest cash spinner in the Indian Cricket group. Being one of the most-went to cricket groups on the planet, IPL becomes a first game on the planet which was broadcasted live on YouTube. With an immense brand value of more than 475 billion (the US $ 6.7 million), IPL has an intense and strong impact on the GDP of the Indian Economy. According to BCCI, the 2015 season of IPL contributed approximately ₹11.5 billion to the Indian economy. Branding and advertising on jersey’s, bats and stadiums bring a huge number to the sponsors. Advertisement companies earn in 8 digits because of this league. IPL cricket team players focus on games, advertisements, after parties and whatnot. The biggest sponsors of IPL are DLF, Pepsi and Vivo. Vivo has paid the biggest sponsorship today by spending ₹439.8 crores yearly for 2018-22. Before Vivo, DLF was the biggest sponsor by spending ₹40 crores yearly from 2008-2012.

IPL had 12 seasons to date and they have been won by multiple teams. In majority, it has been won by Mumbai Indians (4 times) to conquer the IPL trophy.


Generally, IPL fixtures are done in Round Robin Format. There are eight teams, where each team plays home and away match with each other twice. It has been partitioned into two sections. First the league stage and second the playoffs. The top four teams are selected for the playoffs where the first and second-team will play for the finals and the same goes with third and fourth. After this, THE FINALS take place where the winner of the trophy is announced. All the eight teams denote eight different states of India.

There are many teams playing in IPL, i.e. Chennai super kings, Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challenger’s Bangalore, Kolkata night riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kings X1 Punjab. Each IPL cricket team can have 18 to 25 players where they can’t involve more than 8 overseas players. A group can have a limit of 4 global players in their playing 11.


Mainly there are two prestigious awards provided in the entire IPL tournament. Orange Cap is provided to the top run-scorer. Purple Cap is granted to the most wicket-taker in the whole competition.


Salary is a completely different type of attraction in IPL. There is an auction every year where every team owner is provided an opportunity to bid over players. Net Salary of the entire IPL cricket team cannot exceed more than ₹850 million. According to rules under 19 players cannot be chosen for the team if they have not played any List A or first-class cricket.

In 2019, IPL has offered prize money of ₹500 million, where the winning team gets ₹200 million, first and the second runner up is awarded ₹125 million each. A consolation prize of ₹87.5 million is also awarded to the fourth-placed team. According to IPL rules, it is mandatory to distribute half of the prize money among the players.


With big games come big controversies, IPL has been a center of controversies since the beginning. Multiple players and teams have been accused of match-fixing. Even two-time champion IPL cricket team Chennai Super Kings and inaugural season champions Rajasthan Royals have been suspended just because of their involvement in the betting scandal. This was one of the biggest shocks for the cricket-loving audience.

Author info

Popular in similar categories: